The Ohio Lemon Law Statute is found at sections 1345.71 to 1345.77 of the Ohio Revised Code. It covers the owners of vehicles that are defective within the first 12 months or 18,000 miles, whichever comes first, that isn’t repaired after repeated attempts. Those repeated attempts usually mean three attempts by a dealership that is authorized by the vehicle’s manufacturer. A vehicle is still covered by the Lemon Law in Ohio if it was in that dealership’s authorized shop eight times for repairs, no matter what the repairs involved. Motorcycles and RVs are also covered under the law.
The 30-Day Rule
A claim can even be filed under Ohio’s Lemon Law if a vehicle is in the shop for 30 days or more during its first year of ownership, regardless of whether those days are consecutive. The law won’t apply if you’re outside of the 12-month or 18,000-mile limitations, but there might be remedies available to you under other laws.
Good News on Legal Fees
The Lemon Law in Ohio even protects consumers on legal fees. If we’re representing you in your claim against your vehicle’s manufacturer, and you prevail in the claim, the Ohio Lemon Law requires the manufacturer to pay your legal fees and costs along with the proceeds that you receive for bringing a successful claim. That legal fees provision levels the playing field when you’re taking on a motor vehicle manufacturer that is worth billions and billions of dollars.
Be cautious about lawyers who offer to represent you on a contingency fee basis where they are paid a percentage of your gross recovery. You’re likely to end up losing the legal fees protection of Ohio’s Lemon Law.
If you believe that you bought a lemon, and your vehicle falls within the provisions of the Lemon Law in Ohio, contact Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center® to arrange for a free consultation.
Be the first to like.