Like 11 other states, Florida has changed its personal injury laws regarding auto accident-related medical expenses. No matter who’s responsible for an accident, each driver’s insurer pays the personal injury claims. Called no-fault insurance, the law makes it harder to sue someone who causes an injury accident. If you’re in such a crash, a car accident attorney in Ponte Vedra can tell you about your options.
As they live in a no-fault state, Florida’s drivers must have at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL) insurance. State law limits PIP payments for drivers without serious injuries to $2500, and the state passed the law to control PIP medical payment fraud. Many drivers choose bodily injury liability coverage that pays for permanent injury or death up to the policy limit; BIL also pays for lawsuit defense.
If you’ve just moved to Florida, you can’t keep your old insurance policy. Within 90 days of the move, you must register your vehicle in the state and purchase Florida no-fault insurance.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) can suspend your vehicle registration and license for up to three years or until you get coverage. Once you get the proper auto insurance, you must pay a reinstatement fee.
Every vehicle registered in Florida must have no-fault insurance. To avoid the fees when you’re not in the state, you must surrender your license plate and registration. Upon your return, you can re-register the car and buy a compliant insurance policy.
Though the state’s insurance laws simplify the process of post-accident economic recovery, they sometimes protect at-fault drivers more than they do the victims. If someone has hurt you in an accident, a car accident attorney in Ponte Vedra can help.