In Vermont, the legal limit for most adults over twenty-one is 0.08 percent. For underage drivers, the limit is 0.02 percent. All commercial drivers are restricted to a limit of 0.04 percent. Any drivers who are arrested with a blood-alcohol content reading that applies to them specifically is guilty of the offense. A DUI defense attorney in Vermont could provide a defense for the offenses.
Reviewing the Penalties
* The First Offense: The penalties for the first DUI offense is up to two years in prison. The fines won’t exceed $750. The driver’s license is suspended for a least ninety days.
* The Second Offense: The penalties for the second offense is up to two years in prison. The fines won’t exceed $1,500. The driver’s license is suspended for eighteen months.
* The Third Offense: The penalties for the third offense is five years in prison. The fines won’t exceed $2,500. The driver’s license is suspended for the rest of their life.
How Does the Look-Back Period Work in Vermont?
In most states, there is a look-back period for DUI charges. Typically, the previous convictions that occurred before the look-back period don’t apply to future charges. The state of Vermont doesn’t use a lock-back period. The total number of DUI convictions throughout the defendant’s life can be used against them in new cases.
What Are the Penalties for Refusing to Submit to Testing?
The first refusal incurs a six-month driver’s license suspension. The second offense equates to an eighteen-month suspension. Any third refusal equates to a lifetime driver’s license suspension.
Are There Alternative Choices Instead of a Conviction?
Yes, some defendants could receive a lesser charge called a wet reckless. The offense indicates that the driver had been drinking and was driving recklessly. Typically, the defendant receives probation or must attend an alcohol addiction treatment program.
In Vermont, the state enforces strict laws in terms of punishing drunk drivers. The laws could lead to a complete loss of their driver’s license after a third conviction. Defendants who are facing a DUI charge can contact us to hire a DUI defense attorney in Vermont and they can schedule an appointment today.
Be the first to like.