In Minnesota, driving under the influence is a serious offense that can lead to serious injuries. The driver’s age could play a role in the penalties they incur. For example, any driver over 21 is guilty if they have a blood-alcohol reading of at least 0.08%. It is completely unlawful for any driver under 21 to consume alcohol. DUI laws impose severe penalties for the violation. A DUI Lawyer in Mankato MN provides assistance for drivers who are arrested for the offense.
The First DUI Conviction
For drivers convicted with a blood-alcohol content reading of 0.08%, the penalties are a maximum of ninety days in jail and a fine of $1,000. Drivers with a blood-alcohol content reading of at least 0.16% the penalties include a maximum of one year in jail and a fine of $3,000. A refusal to submit to testing incurs a maximum jail sentence of one year and a fine of $3,000.
Zero Tolerance for Underage Drivers
Any drivers who are under the age of twenty-one years of age is guilty of a DUI with any blood alcohol content reading. The penalties for a blood alcohol content reading of under 0.08% are a fine of $700 and a maximum jail sentence of ninety days. Any reading beyond 0.08% incurs penalties starting with a maximum jail sentence of one year and a fine of $3,000.
What Administrative Penalties Apply?
Administrative penalties for a blood alcohol content reading of 0.08% start with a ninety-day license suspension. The driver won’t receive a limited license for at least fifteen days. If the reading is over 0.16%, the penalties include a suspension for one year and an ignition interlocking device installation for one year.
When are Ignition Interlocking Devices Required By the Criminal Court?
Any first-time conviction where the blood alcohol content reading is at least 0.16%, the second DUI conviction, and a third conviction in ten years all require an ignition interlocking device. The driver pays all fees related to the installation.
In Minnesota, driving under the influence places all drivers and passengers at risk. The offense is serious and gives officers the right to demand chemical testing through implied consent laws. Drivers who need a criminal defense contact a DUI Lawyer in Mankato MN by visiting Blatzlawminnesota.com today.
Be the first to like.